PTK Spring 2017 Induction Ceremony

Beta Theta Tau chapter hosts event in Dakota Room

The Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society Beta Theta Tau chapter at Dakota County Technical College hosted the Spring 2017 Induction Ceremony in the Dakota Room on the college’s main campus in Rosemount, Minnesota, Wednesday, March 22, 2017. Sixty-two DCTC students took the Phi Theta Kappa Oath of Membership and joined an honor society for two-year colleges with a network of nearly 3 million scholars and servant leaders on more than 1,285 campuses worldwide.

Phi Theta Kappa provides $37 million in scholarship opportunities for the honor society’s members; membership in Phi Theta Kappa is offered to eligible students by invitation only. To learn more, visit: JOIN PTK.

Thirty-one DCTC faculty and staff were nominated for Golden Apple Awards by students and received their awards during the ceremony. Golden Apples recognize staff and faculty who have inspired students to excel academically.

Present at the event were DCTC President Tim Wynes, J.D., along with Mike Opp, vice president of academic and student affairs, Scott Gunderson, Beta Theta Tau chapter faculty advisor, and Beta Theta Tau’s chapter officers. Ray Martinez, vice president of South District Minn-Kota Phi Theta Kappa Region, served as the ceremony’s guest speaker.

More about Phi Theta Kappa

Founded in 1918 to recognize academic excellence achieved by two-year college students, Phi Theta Kappa has grown from the original eight chapters in Missouri to more than 1,250 chapters in all 50 states and around the world. Every year, roughly 100,000 students are inducted into the international honor society in recognition of academic success.

Spring 2017 Induction Ceremony gallery

For more photos from the Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2017 Induction Ceremony, visit:

DCTC on Flickr.

To learn more about Phi Theta Kappa at DCTC, contact:

Scott Gunderson
Business Management Faculty
Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Advisor

Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2017 Induction Ceremony