DCTC Foundation Board News

Foundation Board

New chair, vice chair and officers elected at board retreat

During the Dakota County Technical Foundation Board retreat, Thursday, July 18, 2013, Bob Erickson, senior development associate at Welsh Companies, was elected the new board chair. Amy L. Diede, M.D., a family medicine physician at the Apple Valley Medical Center, was elected vice chair; Dale Olson, vice president of finance at Smead Manufacturing was elected treasurer; and Ann Byre, pharmacy director at Allina Health, was elected secretary.

Recent additions to the board membership include Lowell Stolte, environmental director at Flint Hills Resources, and Scott Manwarren, supply/marketing manager at CHS Inc. Tim Wynes, J.D., DCTC interim president, joined the board as an ex officio member; Erin Edlund, DCTC director of institutional advancement, and Miriam Vergara, DCTC Student Senate president, joined the board as adjunct members.

“We had an excellent retreat,” said Tharan Leopold, executive director of alumni and foundation. “I wish to thank Greg Miller, who joined the board in 1998 and served as our chair for many years. Greg will continue to serve on the board as past chair.”

DCTC Foundation Board Officers

Bob Erickson • Senior Development Associate • Welsh Companies
Bob EricksonBob Erickson has been a member of the DCTC Foundation board of directors for more than six years. Erickson also serves as a board member for Citizens Bank Lakeville and the Lakeville Area Arts Center. Erickson has remained active within the Lakeville community and surrounding areas. In 2004, he retired as the city administrator for Lakeville, Minn., after 14 years of service.

He was elected to the Lakeville Area Board of Education in 2009 and currently serves as treasurer. He holds positions as the board liaison for the Lakeville District Finance Advisory Council and is a member of the board of directors and legislative committee for the Association of Metropolitan School Districts. Bob Erickson earned an associate of arts degree in urban planning and attended the Senior Executive Institute at the University of Virginia. He resides in Lakeville with his wife of 39 years, Shelley, and enjoys spending time with his two children and three grandchildren.

Vice Chair
Amy L. Diede, M.D. • Family Medicine • Apple Valley Medical Center
Amy DiedeAmy Diede, M.D., practices family medicine at the Apple Valley Medical Center in Apple Valley, Minn. Diede earned a Bachelor of Science and her M.D. at the University of North Dakota. She did her residency at Methodist Hospital and the University of Minnesota. Her professional focus is on family medicine, women’s health, pediatrics and preventive health.

She chose her field of medicine because she enjoys the rewards of taking care of an entire family. Diede belongs to the American Academy of Family Physicians, Twin Cities Medical Society, Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians and the Minnesota Medical Association. She is certified with the American Board of Family Medicine, Basic Life Support and Advanced Cardiac Life Support. She is actively involved with Crystal Lake Elementary Junior Great Books.

Dale Olson • Vice President of Finance • Smead Manufacturing

Dale OlsonA native of Hastings, Minn., Dale Olson graduated from the DCTC Accounting program in 1977 before earning his MBA at the University of Minnesota.  A certified public accountant, Olson soon advanced to the position of vice president of finance at Smead, a multi-million dollar manufacturer of quality office products. He is responsible for accounting and finance at Smead as well as planning related to insurance, retirement and acquisitions.

Ann Byre • Pharmacy Director • Allina Health

Ann ByreA resident of Dakota County, Ann Byre joined the board with a strong desire to help students prepare for the future. Byre has extensive pharmacy operations experience, including expertise regarding health-system based pharmacies, large-chain retail pharmacies and health system strategies. As the director for Allina Health Pharmacy, she oversees retail/outpatient pharmacy locations at Allina Health hospital and clinic locations across the greater Minneapolis/St. Paul area.

She earned her PharmD and Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences at South Dakota State University. She enjoys spending time with her husband and two children, ages four and one. Her interests include traveling, reading, volunteering, scrapbooking and visiting the family cabin. She looks forward to helping grow the Pharmacy Tech program at DCTC based on recent Minnesota Board of Pharmacy changes in training requirements.

Past Chair
Greg Miller •
President & CEO  Dakota Electric Association
Greg MillerA native of Rochester, Minn., Greg Miller graduated from Rochester John Marshall High School and went on to earn an Associate of Arts from Rochester Community and Technical College and bachelor’s degrees in business and computer science from Minnesota State University, Mankato. After working 11years for the Minnesota Valley Electric Cooperative in Jordan, Minn., he accepted the position of executive vice president at the Dakota Electric Association in  Farmington, Minn.

He was promoted to CEO in 2001. He joined the DCTC Foundation Board in 1998 and has served as chair for many years. “Faculty and staff at DCTC may remember me as the bald ‘Full Deal or No Deal Guy’ or the very tall and very purple Willie Wonka,” Miller said. “Future board members beware.” Miller also serves on the Minnesota Zoo Foundation Board of Trustees and is a member of the Rotary Club of Apple Valley. He has been married since 1983 to his wife, DeLonne. The couple has two children, daughter Chanel, a sophomore at the University of Minnesota Duluth, and son Connor, a senior at Apple Valley High School.

View the entire membership at DCTC Foundation Board of Directors

Learn more about the DCTC Foundation by contacting:

Tharan Leopold
Executive Director of Foundation and Alumni

DCTC Foundation