DCTC Named MSCSA Star Campus

DCTC Student Senate

Student Senate recognized for involvement in statewide student association

DCTC Student Senate

Dakota County Technical College was one of three three-time winners of the Minnesota State College Student Association Star Campus award, which is presented to the most active student senates at colleges belonging to the MSCSA, a Minnesota public two-year college student association. Nine student senates from 47 two-year Minnesota State College and University campuses with MSCSA memberships received Star Campus recognition in 2013.

Student Senate

Student Senate at ARC Blood Drive (pictured with Anna Voight, assistant student life director, and Nicole Meulemans, student life director)

The student senates at Anoka Ramsey Community College–Coon Rapids and Lake Superior College are the other three-time winners of the award. Itasca Community College is a first-time winner; Hennepin Technical College–Brooklyn Park, Normandale Community College, Saint Paul College and South Central College–North Mankato are two-time recipients of the award.

Nicole Meulemans, Student Life director at DCTC, is proud of the college’s student senators and their commitment to the DCTC mission and the work of the MSCSA . “Our Student Senate is exceptionally informed and engaged,” Meulemans said. “They have worked hard to achieve Star Campus status. Future senates will build on their success and carry on the Star Campus tradition.”

Nanci Al-Kordi

Nanci Al-Kordi

Nanci Al-Kordi, a member of the Student Senate and a student ambassador, attended the MSCSA D.C. Summit in March 2013. She participated in an MSCSA Mock Congressional Visit in a winning collaboration with MSCSA members from Rochester Community and Technical College.

“We met with Senator Al Franken and Representative John Kline to practice advocating for students attending two-year colleges,” said Al-Kordi, who is pursuing her A.A.S. degree in the Executive and Administrative Assistant program. “The trip was a wonderful experience.”

Star Campus recognition follows a point-based award system. Points are earned by fulfilling the  criteria listed below. DCTC earned 10.5 out of a possible 13 points.

Star Campus Criteria

Top photo (left to right) Student Senate Treasurer Sergio Garcia, Student Senator Miriam Vergara, Student Ambassador Nanci Al-Kordi, Student Senate Vice President Ben Jackson, Student Senator Vadym Snesrud, Student Senate Secretary Jocelyn Vergara, Student Senator Emma Fisher, Student Senate President Andy Chernisky  
About the MSCSA

A public two-year college student association in Minnesota, the MSCSA works to ensure accessible, quality and affordable public higher education while providing students with representation, leadership development and communication opportunities across the state.

About the DCTC Student Senate

The Student Senate is the official voice of students on campus. The Senate is involved in many decisions made at DCTC, including decisions related to tuition increases, graduation planning and extracurricular activities. The Senate can also initiate projects for improving and enhancing the collegiate experience. Every student on campus is encouraged to participate in the Student Senate.

To learn more about Student Life, the Student Senate or the MSCSA at DCTC, contact: