DCTC Instructor Named 2013 Exceptional Businesswoman

Rosealee Lee to be honored with 10 others

Since 2010, the Exceptional Businesswomen Award has recognized women who have distinguished themselves in Dakota County business and community efforts. Rosealee Lee, meeting and event management instructor at Dakota County Technical College, is one of 11 women who will be honored with the award during a recognition ceremony and breakfast on Tuesday, March 5, at Lost Spur Event Center and Golf Course in Eagan, Minn.

“It is an honor to represent Dakota County Technical College and women professionals,” said Lee about receiving the award. “I believe it is incumbent on all professionals, regardless of gender and occupation, to mentor others. One of the rarest gifts that’s forgotten all too often is that what we give, we get back.”

Annette Marquez | Founder/Owner of The Perfect Occasion

Annette Marquez is one such student who Lee mentored. Marquez graduated from DCTC’s Meeting and Event Management program and received the award in 2010. She founded The Perfect Occasion, a business that specializes in event planning for nonprofit organizations and small businesses. Read her full story in DCTC News: Annette Marquez Honored as Exceptional Businesswoman.

A panel of judges from the DCTC Foundation, the Dakota County Tribune, and Sun Thisweek reviewed the nominations. This year’s award winners represent a wide variety of community members, including small business owners, educators, organizers, manufacturers, motivators, innovators and barrier breakers.

“Building our industries forward, one person and one career at a time, benefits our students, our industry and us,” said Lee. “I hope this honor will shine a light on that practice. I am grateful to all of my mentees and associates, as well as the selection committee for this award.”

This year’s winners in the fourth class of Exceptional Businesswomen are:
  • Sharon Hoffman Avent | Smead Manufacturing Company president and CEO | Hastings, Minn.
  • Ruthe Batulis | Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce president
  • Catherine Byers Breet | ARBEZ Inc. owner | Eagan, Minn.
  • Jeanne Hutter | Lakeville Convention & Visitors Bureau director
  • Rosealee Lee | Dakota County Technical College faculty member | Rosemount, Minn.
  • Debbie McConnell | Medi-Car Auto Repair owner | Rosemount, Minn.
  • Patti McDonald | McDonald Eye Care Associates business administrator | Lakeville, Minn.
  • Susan McGaughey | Valley Natural Foods general manager | Burnsville, Minn.
  • Kristina Murto | Ensemble Creative & Marketing owner | Lakeville, Minn.
  • Linda Peterson | Beau Monde Salon owner | Burnsville, Minn.
  • Stacey Stratton | True Talent Group president | Apple Valley, Minn.

Single tickets are $30 to attend the recognition ceremony or get a table of eight for $175. To purchase tickets, visit 2013 Exceptional Businesswomen Recognition Banquet and Breakfast.

To learn more about Meeting and Event Management, Spa and Resort Management or Hospitality Lodging Management at DCTC, contact:
  • Rosealee Lee
    Meeting & Event Management Instructor