DCTC Student Senate Sees Stars


DCTC’s Student Senate was highly recognized at MSCSA’s 2012 Spring General Assembly

The Dakota County Technical College’s Student Senate had much to celebrate at the Minnesota State College Student Association Spring General Assembly at the Breezy Point Resort in Breezy Point, Minn., on April 22, 2012. Student Senate Advisor, Nicole Meulemans was named the 2012 Advisor of the Year, Michael Doyle was elected as the 2012-2013 MSCSA Treasurer, and DCTC was awarded Star Campus status for the second consecutive year.

Nicole Meulemans
Nicole Meulemans | 2012 Advisor of the Year

The Advisor of the Year honor is bestowed upon one student senate advisor annually by MSCSA. Meulemans was nominated for the award by ten of her current and former student senators at DCTC and was selected by the MSCSA statewide student leadership to receive the honor.

DCTC Student Senate President Andrew Chernisky had this to say about Meulemans’s work as an advisor, “She is one of the most approachable, helpful, insightful people I know and I am so glad to have her as our senate advisor.”

Michael Doyle
Michael Doyle | 2012-2013 MSCSA Treasurer

Doyle was elected by over 300 student delegates from public two-year Minnesota State Colleges and Universities institutions at the MSCSA Spring General Assembly. The MSCSA Treasurer ensures the overall financial security and accountability of the association and serves as the chair of the fiscal committee.

Doyle is pursuing an A.A.S. degree in Nanoscience Technology at DCTC. He is a Rosemount resident who served as the DCTC student senate secretary during the 2011-12 year.

Star Campus

The Star Campus award is given out to MSCSA’s most active student senates. Only 10 of the 47 MSCSA member senates from two-year MnSCU campuses achieved Star Campus status this year.

Criteria for the award include active attendance at MSCSA events, participation in MSCSA campaigns such as our Pell Grant petition work and recruiting students to lobby at the Minnesota Capitol. The full “Star Campus” criteria can be found on MCSCA’s website.

View more photos and videos:

Photo of Nicole Meulemans accepting MSCSA Advisor of the Year

Photo of Michael Doyle accepting MSCSA Treasurer-elect

The Minnesota State College Student Association (MSCSA) represents students attending the state’s two-year technical, community, and comprehensive colleges on 47 campuses advocating for more than 100,000 students across the state.

For more information about DCTC as an MSCSA Star Campus, contact: