True Blue Gala: Discovering Tradition

True Blue Gala

DCTC Foundation hosts premiere fundraising event

Dakota County Technical College Foundation hosted the 1st annual True Blue Gala Thursday, April 19, 2012, at Brackett’s Crossing Country Club in Lakeville, Minn. The event, which included a silent auction, Wall of Wine and a raffle drawing for a $5,500 Snap-On tool chest, raised money for student scholarships, recognized award recipients and provided networking opportunities for alumni and business leaders.

“The gala turned into a terrific evening thanks to the generosity of everyone who attended,” said Tharan Leopold, executive director of foundation and alumni. “We were pleased with the turnout and see the event growing even larger next year. People had a lot of fun, and I think we may have discovered a new tradition for fundraising at the college.”

Local businesses donated more than 140 auction items. Nearly 250 community members and DCTC supporters attended the event. Greg Miller, DCTC Foundation board chair and Dakota Electric CEO, along with Scott Ramsdale, Anchor Bank senior vice president, emceed the gala. Patrick Lair, DCTC director of admissions, recruitment and outreach, played the baby grand piano during social hour.

Four DCTC students and graduates shared their stories about how scholarships and emergency grants provided essential financial assistance, allowing them to continue their education. Michael Hunter, an Automotive Technician alumnus, spoke about the power of technical education and the difference it made in his life. Denise Moy, a 2011 Supervisory Leadership graduate, spoke about losing her job after 30 years and relying on an emergency grant to complete her degree.

True Blue Gala Award Recognitions
Todd Jagerson | Outstanding Alumni of the Year

Todd Jagerson serves as the college’s chief information officer and as faculty in the Information Systems department. For the full story, read “Todd Jagerson Named 2012 Alumni of the Year.”

Patricia Kujala | Outstanding Instructor of the Year

Patricia Kujala serves as faculty in the Practical Nursing program. For the full story, read “Patricia Kujala: 2012 Instructor of the Year.”

Sheryl Buss | Spirit of DCTC Award

Sheryl Buss served as faculty in the Office Careers department. For the full story, read “Sheryl Buss Exemplifies Spirit of DCTC.”

Raymond “Butch” Ames | DCTC Advocacy Award

Butch Ames is president and CEO of Ames Construction. For the full story, read “Butch Ames Wins DCTC Advocacy Award.”

Silent Auction Items at True Blue Gala“We are satisfied with our first try at a gala, but we are definitely looking at building on the event’s success,” Leopold said. “Our aim is to make the True Blue Gala a DCTC tradition for years to come.”

Leopold went on to congratulate the award recipients. He also thanked silent auction donors, DCTC student scholarship supporters, Lakeville Liquors and Director Brenda Visnovec for sponsoring the Wall of Wine, Snap-on for donating the tool chest raffle prize, and all the DCTC sponsors who contributed to the scholarship fundraiser.

True Blue Gala Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsor
Dakota Electric Association

Silver Sponsors
Graphic Design, Inc.
Lancer Hospitality
Anchor Bank

Bronze Sponsors
Pride Engineering, Inc.
CHS, Inc.
Bremer Bank
Thomson Reuters
State Farm agent Paul Eggen
Ziegler Cat
Fraternal Order of Eagles

Wall of Wine Sponsor
Lakeville Liquors

Raffle Sponsor
Snap-on Tools

For more info on the DCTC Alumni Association and DCTC Foundation, contact:
  • Tharan Leopold
    Executive Director of Foundation and Alumni