All-Minnesota Academic Team Celebration

DCTC students, Joyce Ludwig and Awbre Henry, honored as top scholars

(left to right) VCOM Instructor DeAnn Engvall, Automotive Technician Instructor Jeff Copeland, President Ronald E. Thomas, Team Scholar Awbre Henry, Trustee Michael Vekich, Team Scholar Joyce Ludwig, VCOM Instructor Connie Larson, Chancellor James McCormick

The Phi Theta Kappa All-Minnesota Academic Team Celebration was held at the Royal Cliff in Eagan, Minn., Friday, March 25, 2011. Forty-five students from 20 two-year colleges in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system were honored for their selection to the 2010–2011 All-Minnesota Academic Team, which recognizes scholars for their hard work and dedication in pursuit of personal and academic goals while contributing to the success of friends, family and the community.

Two students from Dakota County Technical College, Joyce Ludwig and Awbre Henry, were selected for the team and honored at the event.

Joyce Ludwig

Joyce Ludwig | Majoring in Graphic Design Technology, Multimedia and Web Design, and Electronic Publishing

With a strong entrepreneurial spirit leading her to start her own graphic and multimedia design business, Joyce Ludwig is making good use of the valuable resources available to her as a DCTC student. She is president of the Multicultural Student Leadership Association, vice president of Phi Theta Kappa, a member of the Student Senate, and a volunteer with a variety of charitable drives, including Feed My Starving Children and Armful of Love. As a critical contributor to a service-learning project completed by her graphic design class, she helped create artwork for public buildings belonging to the city of Rosemount. Regarding her work at DCTC, Joyce noted, “It gives me a true sense of accomplishment, allowing me to walk with my head held high in pride.”

Awbre Henry

Awbre Henry | Majoring in Automotive Technician

For Awbre Henry, home is the island nation of Jamaica, located 90 miles south of Cuba in the Caribbean Sea. Awbre believes in the passage Philippians 4:13 from the Bible: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!” This belief motivates him to accomplish as much as possible. He belongs to the Campus Lions Club and Auto Club, and also serves as president of the college’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter. He is diligent with his studies, earning a 3.88 GPA and a place on the President’s List. Awbre plans to use the skills and knowledge he acquires in the Automotive Technician program to start his own automotive repair shop, one oriented to the needs of customers and community.

DCTC President Ronald E. Thomas gave the welcoming address and introductions.
Guest speakers included:
  • Richard W. Davenport, President, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Michael Vekich, Board of Trustees, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
  • James McCormick, Chancellor, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities

Chancellor McCormick was honored with an award for his contributions to the All-Minnesota Academic Team and Phi Theta Kappa. Linda Tetzlaff, regional coordinator, Phi Theta Kappa Minn-Wi-Kota, conducted the recognitions of students. Tetzlaff was honored with an award for her years of service to the Minn-Wi-Kota Region.

For photos and descriptions of members of the All-Minnesota Academic Team, follow the link below:

All-Minnesota Academic Team Celebration Program

For more information about the Phi Theta Kappa Beta Theta Tau Chapter at DCTC, please contact: