All-Minnesota Academic Team Celebration

Two DCTC students, Patricia Dunlap and Susan Prom, honored at Phi Theta Kappa event

Linda Baer, James Van Houten, Patricia Dunlap, Susan Prom, Ronald E. Thomas

Linda Baer, James Van Houten, Patricia Dunlap, Susan Prom, Ronald E. Thomas

Susan Prom, a student in the Executive and Administrative Assistant program, and Patricia Dunlap, a student in the Supervisory Leadership program at Dakota County Technical College were honored Wednesday, March 3, 2010, at the All-Minnesota Academic Team Celebration at the Royal Cliff in Eagan, Minn.

Standing out at DCTC not only for their exemplary scholarship, but also for their campus and community involvement, Dunlap and Prom are two members of a prestigious and scholarly group that includes 40 students from 21 two-year colleges from across Minnesota.

The All-State Academic Team was introduced nearly 20 years ago to honor and recognize two-year college
students for their leadership, academic achievement, and community and college service.

In 1994, state academic teams were introduced as a way to provide scholarships and scholastic recognition
to Phi Theta Kappa members while promoting excellence at two-year colleges. The state academic teams
are a division of the Academic All-American Team for Community, Technical and Junior College Students,
an international program sponsored annually by Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today, and the American Association
of Community Colleges.

Minnesota’s public community and technical colleges are proud to be part of a tradition that showcases the high achievements of students who are committed to success in the classroom and service to their communities. By recognizing these students, Minnesota demonstrates a commitment to scholarship and community service as essential objectives in the state’s public community and technical colleges.

DCTC President Ronald E. Thomas delivered the welcome and introductions at the event. Richard W. Davenport, president, Minnesota State University Mankato, James Van Houten, Board of Trustees, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, and Linda Baer, senior vice chancellor for academic and student affairs, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities served as guest speakers.

Linda Tetzlaff, regional coordinator, Phi Theta Kappa Minn-Wi-Kota, conducted the student recognition ceremony.

To see the full list of students (with photos) on the All-Minnesota Academic Team, please click HERE.