MCCC changes names and logo to the MCAC (Minnesota College Athletic Conference)

Worthington, MN. – The Minnesota Community College Conference (MCCC) is changing its name to the Minnesota College Athletic Conference (MCAC). The new name for the conference will take effect on July 10, Justin Heckenlaible, Conference Coordinator announced.

The recent addition of technical and tribal colleges was a driving force behind the name change. “We thought it was time for the conference name to reflect the change in membership and growth we have experienced in recent years”, stated Heckenlaible.

The Minnesota Community College Conference (MCCC) was first established in the fall of 1967 although many two year colleges throughout the state were competing in intercollegiate athletics prior to that time.

The MCAC offers competition in baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, football, men’s and women’s golf, softball,volleyball, and wrestling.

Member schools include:
Anoka-Ramsey Community College, Central Lakes College, Century College, Dakota County Technical College, Fond Du Lac Tribal & Community College, Hibbing Community College, Itasca Community College, Mesabi Range Community and Technical College , Minneapolis Community and Technical College, MSCTC-Fergus Falls, Minnesota West Community and Technical College, Northland Community and Technical College, Rainy River Community College, Ridgewater College, Riverland Community College, Rochester Community and Technical College, St. Cloud Technical College, and Vermillion Community College.

The name change also includes a new logo. See below and also attached to press release. For more information on the MCAC please visit the conference website at