Donors and Foundation Directors Recognized By MNSCU Trustees

About 200 volunteers, foundation directors and donors who support the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities were honored April 18 at the system’s Ninth Annual Foundation Recognition.

Among those attending from Dakota County Technical College were DCTC vice president Sharon LaComb, Representative Joe Atkins, Al Pearson, John Schmidt, and DCTC president Dr. Ronald E. Thomas.

Held at The Depot in Minneapolis, the event was sponsored by the system’s Board of Trustees, Chancellor James H. McCormick and the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Foundation.

Board of Trustees Chair Robert Hoffman told the group, “Your work contributes to a very important cause. As global competition grows, providing an affordable higher education for our citizens has never been more important. You can be proud that these funds make a substantive difference for hundreds of students and for the Minnesota’s future.”

During the last fiscal year, private support to the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities totaled $32 million. At Dakota County Technical College, contributions amounted to $364,172

In acknowledging supporters, McCormick said, “Every contribution from individuals, organizations and business makes a difference. With these resources, more students can gain the knowledge and skills they need for successful and fulfilling lives.

“But we also know private support for the work of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities has never been more important. With state appropriations covering only half of the cost of higher education, tuition has increased to make up the difference in recent years. I am hopeful that we can redouble our fundraising efforts this year to expand our reach to even more students,” he said.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system comprises 32 state universities and community and technical colleges serving the higher education needs of Minnesota. The system serves about 240,000 students per year in credit-based courses and an additional 130,000 students in non-credit courses.