On July 1st children, under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches, are required to be fastened in a child safety seat! It is recommended to keep a child in a booster based on their height, rather than their age.
Minnesota Booster Seat Facts
· Minnesota State Statute (169.685) requires a child who is both under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches to be required to be fastened in a child safety seat that meets federal safety standards. Under this law, a child cannot use a seat belt alone until they are age 8 or 4 feet 9 inches tall. It is recommended to keep a child in a booster based on their height, rather than their age.
· 70 percent of Minnesota children ages 4–8 are riding either unbelted or not in a properly fitted booster seat (Wirthlin Worldwide Research Firm).
· In 2008, 454 children ages 4–7 were injured in traffic crashes — 63 percent of those victims were either unrestrained or only wearing lap and shoulder belts.
· In Minnesota, vehicle occupants ages 4–7 in lap and shoulder belts but not a booster seat were two and a half times more likely to be injured than those in properly installed booster seats.
· During 2005–2008 in Minnesota, 10 children ages 4–7 were vehicle occupants killed in crashes — nine of those victims were not properly restrained in a booster seat or child safety seat.
Source: Minnesota Department of Public Safety, May 2009